Out & Equal Workplace Advocates names finalists for 2010 Workplace Awards

Out & Equal Workplace Advocates names finalists for 2010 Workplace Awards

July 21, 2010

On Thursday, October 7th, Out & Equal Workplace Advocates will host the 11th annual Out & Equal Workplace Awards Dinner at the Los Angeles Convention Center as part of this year’s Out & Equal Workplace Summit. The “Outie” Awards recognize individuals and organizations for exceptional achievements on behalf of lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender employees.

“Every year, I am overwhelmed by the number and quality of the nominations received in each of the Workplace Awards categories,” noted Out & Equal Founding Executive Director Selisse Berry.  “This year is no exception. Each of the finalists is among the top leaders in the LGBT workplace equality movement.”

Marilyn Nagel, Global Chief Diversity Officer at finalist Cisco Systems, Inc., stated, “We are honored to be recognized as a finalist for our efforts in the Workplace Excellence category of the Outie Awards.  At Cisco we recognize that inclusion of all people and perspectives is a business imperative.

Don  Knauss, Chairman & Chief Executive Officer of The Clorox Company, a nominee for Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Employee Resource Group of the Year, stated, “It is an honor for the entire company that the Clorox Pride ERG has been named a finalist for this year’s Out & Equal Workplace LGBT ERG of the Year award. For companies like Clorox, the fact that diversity has become a business imperative with workplace equality extending to LGBT people, is due in no small part to the achievements of the entire LGBT community.”

Out & Equal Workplace Advocates is proud to announce the 2010 finalists in the following categories:

The 2010 Trailblazer Award finalists are:

Bill Hendrix, Biology Team Leader, The Dow Chemical Company

Shane Snowdon, Director of LGBT Resource Center, UCSF

Gordon Stewart, Senior Director, Global Commercial Lead Lipitor, Pfizer

Bob Witeck, CEO and Co-founder, Witeck-Combs Communications

The Trailblazer Award recognizes an LGBT person who has made a significant contribution to advancing workplace equality by helping improve their own workplace or contributing to equality nationally.

The 2010 Champion Award finalists are:

Mark Bertolini, President, Aetna Healthcare

Anthony Carter, Vice President, Johnson & Johnson

Frank Kern, Senior Vice President, IBM

Denise Lynn, Vice President, Diversity and Leadership Strategies, American Airlines

The Champion Award recognizes a non-LGBT person who has played a pivotal role in championing equal treatment of LGBT employees on the job. This individual will have demonstrated a significant commitment to LGBT workplace rights

The 2010 Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender Employee Resource Group of the Year Award finalists are:

The Clorox Company


Turner Broadcasting Systems, Inc.

Texas Instruments

The Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender Employee Resource Group of the Year Award recognizes a particular ERG, sometimes referred to as a business group or network with a proved track record of success in advocating for LGBT equal rights in its own workplace.

The 2010 Significant Achievement Award finalists are:

The Dow Chemical Company


Alcoa Inc.

ITT Corporation

The Significant Achievement Award recognized an employer that has made significant strides in advancing a fair and equitable workplace for its LGBT employees.

The 2010 Workplace Excellence Award finalists are:

Ernst & Young


Aetna Healthcare

Cisco Systems

The Workplace Excellence Award recognized an employer that has a historic and ongoing commitment to pursuing and executing workplace equality for LGBT employees, continually raising the bar of workplace equality for others to follow.

Register NOW for the 2010 Workplace Summit and Workplace Awards Dinner at http://outandequal.org/2010-registration.